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Dear Friends and Neighbors,

Thank you for your support. It is has been an honor to represent
you in the General Assembly for another term. There have been
many intensely debated issues this legislative session and it has
been a privilege to represent the people of Meriden in each of those
discussions.

Connecticut’s economy continues to recover and looking back at the 2015
legislative session | am proud of the steps the legislature took to grow
our state’s economy. We supported the successful Small Business Express
Program and made historic investments in transforming our state’s
transportation system.

We continue to support and improve our education system by providing
additional aid to English Language Learners and students with learning
disabilities like dyslexia. We also took significant steps to lower the cost of
higher education by becoming the first state in the country to establish a
Student Loan Bill of Rights.

| hope you find this information to be of use and please know that
Meriden’s working families remained at the heart of each vote | cast in
the House Chamber. As always, please do not hesitate to call my office if
you have any questions.

Sincerely,

HILDA E. SANTIAGO
PROUDLY SERVING THE 84TH HOUSE DISTRICT | MERIDEN

STATE REPRESENTATIVE

LEGISLATIVE OFFICE BUILDING
HARTFORD, CT 06106-1591

CapiTOL: 800-842-8267
WWW.HOUSEDEMS.CT.GOV/SANTIAGOH




Honoring the legacy of Prudence Hilda, Rep. Altobello, Rep. Abercrombie and

Crandall with Rep. Simmons and members of the Boys & Girls Club at the Capitol

Rep. Morris

SENIORS

PROTECTING THE ELDERLY

In situations where abuse or neglect is suspected, the Department of Social
Services can now petition a probate court to gain access to that person’s
home to make an assessment. The definition of neglect has been expanded
to include elderly people who do not live alone, but whose caretaker fails to
arrange for the necessary services to keep an elderly person healthy.

PATIENT-DESIGNATED CAREGIVERS

The CARE (Caregiver Advise, Record, Enable) Act requires that a hospital
document a caregiver in the patient’s discharge plan, designated by the
patient. They must attempt to notify the caregiver and to instruct the
caregiver on post-discharge tasks.

CONSUMERS

VARIABLE ELECTRIC RATES

Connecticut became the first state in the nation to protect residents from
electricity providers who offer a low introductory rate that increases rapidly.
The protections require competitive electric suppliers to give their customers
a 60-day notice before the end of their contracts. Suppliers cannot charge
customers a termination or early cancellation fee and must allow customers
to switch providers within 72 hours.

VETERANS

The Legislature recognizes the important sacrifices that veterans have made.
We have established the Women Veterans Program to help connect female
veterans to services, and the Veterans to Agriculture Program to give tax
credits to vets working in agricultural production. We created the Incarcerated
Veterans Reintegration Council to help incarcerated vets reintegrate back into
their communities.
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SMALL BUSINESS

This year we allocated more funds for the highly successful Small Business
Express Program. We are also requiring the Department of Economic and
Community Development to dedicate funds to develop a program for
construction projects for minority business enterprises. These moves will
create jobs and better economic opportunities for Connecticut families.

FUNDING FOR LOCAL YOUTH ORGANIZATIONS

This session, my colleagues and | were able to secure funding that supports
our city’s violence prevention programs. The impact violence has on a young
person is not only critical to their overall state of well-being, it is critical to
the health and growth of our community.

It is encouraging to work with these remarkable local organizations and our
police department in an effort to provide more productive options for our
young people.

BIRTH TO THREE PROGRAMS

Beginning this year, hearing tests will now be included in the Birth-to-Three
program. This program offers parents and guardians a variety of tools to
ensure that their toddlers and children are properly screened and cared for
if they are found to have a disability during this essential developmental
period. Early detection of a delay or disability help parents and guardians
make use of early intervention services for their infant or toddler.

STUDENT LOANS

A historic step increasing college affordability, the Connecticut Higher
Education Supplemental Loan Authority (CHESLA) announced it will offer a
fixed interest rate of 4.95% for new student loans, down from its current rate
of 6.75%. Not only is this the lowest rate that CHESLA has ever offered, it is
also significantly lower than the new Federal PLUS loan rate of 6.84%.

CONNECTICUT
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Hilda, Rep. Altobello & Sen. Bartolomeo
welcoming students from Meriden in

Hilda with students from Meriden at the
Legislative Office Building
Senate Chambers

REDUCING REQUIRED TESTING IN SCHOOLS

Since the rollout of No Child Left Behind almost 15 years ago, standardized
testing has come under a lot of scrutiny. One area of concern is that there
are simply too many tests. For example, juniors in high school are
currently required to take the SBAC exam at a time when many of them
are taking the SAT or ACT college admission tests.

As we work statewide and across the country to improve the use of
standardized tests, the legislature took another big step forward this year
by allowing schools to waive SBAC testing for any students taking these
college admissions tests.

SECLUSION AND RESTRAINT IN SCHOOLS

No one wants to restrain or seclude a child. Unfortunately, it may

be necessary for safety reasons. It is critical to have a plan in place

to ensure students’ safety and to provide clear guidelines for school
personnel when a student’s behavior may warrant such measures. Key
provisions of this law include prohibiting teachers, administrators, and
other public school employees from using life-threatening or prone
physical restraints on students. School employees may only place a
student in seclusion to prevent immediate or imminent injury to the
student or others, and are prohibited from using physical restraint or
seclusion for the sole purposes of punishing the student, because it is
convenient, or instead of a less restrictive alternative. The school board
must notify a parent immediately or at least within 24 hours of their
child being secluded or restrained.



