
Questions about health insurance?  Having a problem 
with a health insurance company?  The Office of the 
Healthcare Advocate provides Connecticut residents 
with information about consumer rights and will 
advocate on your behalf to effectively resolve managed 
care problems in a timely manner.

You can contact the Office of the Healthcare Advocate by 
calling 1-866-HMO-4446 (toll-free) or (860) 297-3980.
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ROBERTA WILLIS

Senior Update 2007
News You Can Use

Office of the Healthcare Advocate

A Valuable State Resource Ready to Serve You

To crack down on the illegal use of handicapped parking 
spaces, a new law increases the fine for violating the 
law from a previous minimum fine of $85 to $150 for the 
first violation and $250 for each subsequent violation.

Violations include illegal parking in a handicapped spot, 
unauthorized display of handicapped parking pass, failure 
to return a pass when required by the DMV, and failure 
to provide designated parking spaces for handicapped 
persons. PA 07-52

Curbing the Illegal Use of 
Handicapped Parking Spaces

STATE REPRESENTATIVE



Home Care For Seniors

Taking Medicaid Home

Connecticut has received the federal “Money Follows the 
Person” grant.  The $24.2 million grant, supervised by 
the Department of Social Services, will span five years 
and allow Medicaid to pay for home care for 700 people 
with disabilities who are 18 and 
older and who choose to live in 
their own home, a family home, an 
apartment, or congregate housing 
such as assisted living.  When 
people are in need, they ought to 
have the choice to receive care in 
their own homes as an alternative 
to institutional care.  The start date 
is awaiting federal approval.  To get the latest news and 
updates, please contact the Department of Social Services 
at 1-800-842-1508 or visit www.CT.gov/DSS.

As winter quickly approaches, I would like to share some 
information regarding energy assistance.  Many low-
income families, seniors, and people with disabilities who 
qualify for energy assistance do not apply for it.  Whether 
you use fuel oil, electric heat, propane, or wood heat, 
help may be available through the Connecticut Energy 
Assistance Program (CEAP).  Homeowners and renters who 
pay separately for heat as well as renters whose heat is 
included in the rent may be eligible if they met the proper 
income and liquid asset requirements.  Residents who do 
not qualify for state assistance or have exhausted their 
state benefits may apply for help through the not-for-profit 
Operation Fuel.

Other programs may be available, too.  If you live in Goshen 
or Torrington, you may contact New Opportunities, Inc. 
at (203) 756-8151.  If you live in Cornwall, Salisbury, or 
Sharon, you may contact The Community Action Committee 
of Danbury, Inc. at (203) 748-5422.

For additional information regarding these or other energy 
assistance programs, please call InfoLine at 2-1-1, the 
Department of Social Services’ Winter Heating Assistance 
Line at 1-800-842-1132, or visit www.CT.Gov/DSS.

Energy Assistance

Questions?  Concerns?

Representative
Roberta Willis

1-800-842-8267

The legislature realizes that with a little help many seniors 
can remain at home.  The Connecticut Home Care Trust 
Fund, administered by the Comptroller, allows people to 

set up individual savings accounts 
for costs not covered by insurance.  
This will let more seniors stay home 
or in a non-institutional setting.

Interest on the account is exempt 
from the state income tax, and 
withdrawals can be made to cover 
care expenses such as chores, 
companion services, meals, and 

transportation.  Seniors can even hire their own personal 
care assistants.  The program is in development and will be 
ready mid-2008.  For the latest news, please call (860) 702-
3300 or visit the Comptroller at www.osc.state.ct.us.

Independent Living Are you 60 years of age or older?•	

Are you a caregiver for a family member who is 60 or •	
older, or suffering from dementia?

Do you have questions about Medicare and related •	
insurance?

Could you use help caring for your spouse or •	
parents?

The Western Connecticut Area Agency on Aging has 
trained staff to help you with questions about Medicare, 
supplemental insurance, ConnPACE prescription drug 
insurance, Medicare Part D prescription cards, and 
Medicaid.  They also have information on things like housing, 
transportation, nutrition programs, healthcare directives, 
keeping your affairs in order, 
and veterans’ benefits.

WCAAA can help families 
caring for a person 60 or 
older, or who has been 
diagnosed with Alzheimer’s 
or another form of 
dementia.  With funding 
through the National Family 
Caregiver Support Program, 
the Statewide Respite Care Program, or their private Care 
Management Program, they can arrange for respite care to 
give caregivers a much needed break.  They can sometimes 
help pay for medically necessary items not covered by 
Medicare or other insurance.

Call them with your questions related to aging or caregiving.  
They’ll either help you directly or refer you to other 
appropriate programs ready to help.  Contact WCAAA at 
1-800-994-9422 or at www.wcaaa.org.  Help is just a call 
or click away!

Help For Seniors


